Complete Guide to User Roles

The Applicant Tracking System (ATS) allows the administrator to create custom user roles to define permissions for what a user can access. For example, you could use the role “contact only” for someone in your office that you would like them to have the ability to forward the candidate's information to get feedback, but they are only able to see that information with the email.

Navigating to User Roles Menu

  • All configurations to user roles are done from the "User Role" sub-menu found under Administration. To begin, click Administration from the menu bar.

    Dashboard_-_01.png

  • Click User Roles on the left-hand side.

    Administration_-_Menu_-_User_Roles_-_00.png

  • When you arrive, you will see the user roles of your ATS.

    User_Roles_-_Roles_Only_-_01.png

Default User Roles

There are four default roles that cannot be edited, copied, or deactivated: 

  • Contact User Only: Can contact candidates/applicants only. These users cannot create jobs, cannot access the software, etc.
  • Job Req Override: If you have a job requisition process in place, any users with this role can override that process if need be.
  • Reports Access: Reporting needs only. For example, this role is for an intern to have access to run weekly reports or for a director/department head who wants information on hired candidates.
  • System Administrator: For a user that will access all parts of Arcoro.

Add a User Role

  • Click Add User Role.

    User_Roles_-_Add_-_00.png

  • A menu should appear like below. Enter a name, cross reference code, and description for the new user role.

    User_Roles_-_Add_-_01.png

  • (Optional) use the "Admin Presets" drop-down menu to toggle the system default options for the selected preset admin role. The roles available are:
    • Basic Administrator
    • Jobs Administrator
    • Limited Jobs Administrator
    • Candidate Administrator
    • Account Administrator
    • Job Requisition Administrator

    User_Roles_-_Admin_Presets_-_00.png

  • Scroll down through the permission list and enable the desire user permission by clicking the Off/On toggle. "Check All" and "Uncheck All" allows you to select/deselect all permissions with a single click for easier permission adjustments. For more details on each permission, hover over the question-circle.svg icon. For a full list of permissions, refer to the following article: User Role Permissions

    User_Roles_-_Permissions_-_00.png

  • Click Save Changes when done.

Edit a User Role

  • Click the pencil.svgicon to the far right of a user role under the "Action" column to edit an existing user role.

    User_Roles_-_Pencil_Icon_-_00.png

  • Scroll down through the permission list and enable the desire user permission by clicking the Off/On toggle. "Check All" and "Uncheck All" allows you to select/deselect all permissions with a single click for easier permission adjustments. For more details on each permission, hover over the question-circle.svg icon. For a full list of permissions, refer to the following article: User Role Permissions

    User_Roles_-_Edit_Role_-_00.png

  • Click Save Changes when done.

Copy a User Role

If you have a user role that is close to a new role you need to make, you can copy an existing role, make minor adjustments, and create a new user role.

  • Click the files-o.svg icon to the far right of a user role under the "Action" column to copy an existing user role.

    User_Roles_-_Copy_Icon_-_00.png

  • Enter a name, cross reference code, and description for the new role.

    User_Roles_-_Copy_Role_-_00.png

  • Scroll down through the permission list and enable the desire user permission by clicking the Off/On toggle. "Check All" and "Uncheck All" allows you to select/deselect all permissions with a single click for easier permission adjustments. For more details on each permission, hover over the question-circle.svg icon. For a full list of permissions, refer to the following article: User Role Permissions

    User_Roles_-_Permissions_-_00.png

  • Click Save Changes when done.

Deactivate a User Role

If a user role is no longer needed or was made in error, you can deactivate the role so it is not listed amongst your active user roles.

  • Click the trash.svg icon to the far right of a user role under the "Action" column to deactivate an existing user role.

    User_Roles_-_Trash_Icon_-_00.png

  • A confirmation dialog will appear to confirm the deactivation. Click OK. to confirm.

    User_Roles_-_Deactivate_-_00.png

  • A confirmation message will appear in the top left if successful.

    User_Role_-_Deactivated_-_00.png

Viewing and Reactivating a Deactivated User Role

If a user role has been deactivated, it can be reactivated from the User Role menu.

  • Click the Yes/No toggle to show deactivated user roles.

    User_Roles_-_Include_Deactivated_-_00.png

  • Click the + icon to the far right of a user role under the "Action" column.

    User_Roles_-_Reactivate_-_00.png

  • A confirmation dialog will appear to confirm the activation. Click OK to confirm.

    User_Roles_-_Activate_-_00.png

  • A confirmation message will appear in the top left if successful.

    User_Role_-_Activated_-_00.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful