Elapsed Time is a feature for ExakTime Mobile that allows your employees to be aware of how long they have been working since their last clock in. With this feature, we also introduced the prevention of clocking out if the ExakTime Mobile app does not detect an employee has clocked in yet.
How It Works
After an employee is clocked in, either by themselves or by another user, the elapsed time on ExakTime Mobile will begin to tick up.
When the employee clocks in again to select a new location or cost code, the elapsed time will reset for the new clock in.
Elapsed time will continue to tick up until the employee is clocked out, either by themselves or by another user.
The elapsed time will only appear for the employee that is currently logged in to ExakTime Mobile. It will not show the elapsed time for other employees.
The elapsed time is intended to be an indicator to let employees know how long they have been on the clock and will not clock the employee out automatically.
Your ExakTime Mobile Security Roles will have the option to allow an employee to see how long they have been clocked in.
What Employees See
When employees first login they will be shown the basic Go/Stop buttons with the elapsed time indicator at the top.
Once the employee has clocked in or has been clocked in by another user, the elapsed time will appear at the top.
Tapping the chevron symbol towards the right will expand the menu to show their last known clock in with the time, location, and cost code.
Force Clock Out
While we will prevent an employee from clocking out if ExakTime Mobile does not detect they have not yet clocked in by graying out the STOP button, we have added an additional button next to the STOP button that will allow the employee to clock out. Pressing this button will prompt the employee that ExakTime Mobile does not detect them as having clocked in and if they are sure they want to clock out anyway.